Friday, February 3, 7:30pm

In 1958, the young American pianist Van Cliburn electrified the global music scene by winning the inaugural International Tchaikovsky Competition. To claim the coveted prize, Van Cliburn performed the Russian master’s Piano Concerto No. 1. For his highly anticipated Musicfest debut, Haochen Zhang (2009 Van Cliburn Competition Gold Medalist) will join the Festival Orchestra to perform this same work, a pillar of the repertory. The concert begins with Maestro Robert Moody and the Festival Orchestra performing the lyrical, optimistic Symphony No. 2 by Brahms.

Robert Moody, Conductor
Haochen Zhang, piano
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 2
TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto No. 1