Honoring the Music and the Musicians
Tuesday, February 26, 2019 07:30 PM
This concert has already occurred

Ticketing Alert:  While all assigned concert seating is now sold out, there are a limited number of general admission seats available for purchase at a discounted price of $25.  These tickets can only be purchased by calling the Musicfest box office at (480) 422-8449.

A SILENCED LEGACY: Honoring the Music and the Musicians

A Silenced Legacy is a special chamber concert featuring select members of the Arizona Musicfest Festival Orchestra, who hold meaningful personal ties to musicians of the Holocaust.  From family relatives to master teachers, all of the musicians to be honored used music as a means to persevere as well as to bring harmony and solace to themselves and others.  Through performances of music, both solemn and joyful, as well as through personal reflection, A Silenced Legacy will commemorate the legacies of those who perished and those who survived.

This special chamber concert serves as Arizona Musicfest’s third and final concert program featuring the Violins of Hope, a collection of violins recovered from the Holocaust.

Featured Artists:

Randall Weiss (Symphony Silicon Valley), Marcin Arendt (IRIS Orchestra), violins
Ben Geller (Charlotte Symphony), viola
Brian Thornton (Cleveland Orchestra), Janet Horvath (Minnesota Orchestra), cellos
Lawrence Loeber (Phoenix Symphony), piano
with Special Guest, Martin Goldsmith (author of “The Inextinguishable Symphony)



Yizkor (Remembrance) for String Quintet   Allan Naplan

Kinereth (Sea of Galilee)       Marc Lavry
Brian Thornton & Larry Loeber                                                                                     

Serenata                              Robert Dauber
        Randall Weiss & Larry Loeber

Wiegala, A Lullaby                  Ilse Weber
rr. Marcin Arendt
        Marcin Arendt, Brian Thornton, Larry Loeber  

From Jewish Life: 1. Prayer      Ernest Bloch
        Janet Horvath & Larry Loeber

Escapades: III Rumba              Dick Kattenburg
        Randall Weiss & Marcin Arendt

-  Intermission -

Five Pieces for String Quartet    Erwin Schullhoff
        Mr. Weiss, Mr. Arendt, Ben Geller, Ms. Horvath

Hassidic Dance                          Lev Aronson
       Brian Thornton and Larry Loeber

Chassidic Dance                         Zikmund Schul
(arr. for viola and cello)
      Ben Geller and Brian Thornton

Duo for Violin and Viola              Laszlo Weiner    
     Randall Weiss & Ben Geller

 Kol Nidre                                   Max Bruch
     Brian Thornton, Janet Horvath, Larry Loeber

 String Quintet in C major            Franz Schibert
      II. Adagio      




Share this with your friends:

Restoring hope by repairing violins of the Holocaust

Temple Chai Venue